Cue Modern Barbecue

I’ve been hearing a buzz about this new restaurant called Cue Modern Barbecue for some time now. So, I was really happy and excited when I finally got the chance to eat here. I had to make sure it wasn’t all buzz with no taste nor substance. Well, judging from the photos of the food and the place, how can this not be a win?

Crunchy Baby Squid, Php 265

We had this for appetizer. It WAS crunchy and it WAS flavorful.There were two dips that accompanied it, but the squid itself was good already that I didn’t really need to dip it anymore (but hey, they were yummy too!). I was enjoying even just savoring the saltiness of the bare squid.

Popcorn

Recently I noticed that more establishments are offering this as finger food. Quite wise  because popcorn is a favorite snack for many of us. But it can be tricky! You can’t just serve any kind of popcorn. You better make sure it has that oomph and hopefully has its own irresistible, distinct taste. And this popcorn definitely brought it – with its sweet-spicy kick!

Cue’s Chili Mongo, Php 125

What an interesting bowl, really. I fancied it even before I took a bite because I’m a lover of mongo. It has that usual incorporation of mongo’s solid bits and thick rich liquid but with an unusual element, which is the heat from the chili.

Hand Cut Charred Corned Beef, Php 685

Before I describe it to you, I just want to say that this was so delicious! The beef is so tender and with strong flavor. For all you carnivores out there! I mean, it should be impressive, right? Because Cue is supposed to specialize in quality beef. And it didn’t disappoint.

My friend ordered this for us and when I heard her say corned beef, I envisioned the usual Purefood’s/Argentina kind of corned beef. What a pleasant surprise this was! Smokey and cooked just right to make the flavor become fully incorporated without making it dry. It had these tiny bits of spices that gave a superb emphasis on the taste. I also enjoyed the leaves and the camote as the side dish!

How good was my dining experience? Let’s just say I’m definitely coming back and taking Mr. Boyfriend with me the next time around (a big lover of his meat). I am so sure he’ll enjoy it as much as I did, or even more than me. This lunch was a great first time at Cue but it left me hanging! There’s so much more good to discover here.

Location: G/F Bonifacio High Street Central, East Superblock, 7th Ave cor 29th St. Fort Bonifacio, Taguig

Contact: (02) 621-4052

Leave a comment